DIY Tie-Dye Shoes!!!

DIY Tie-Dye Shoes!!!

Hey, Cutie! Today, I want to share something with you, and I’m pretty psyched about it.

Tie-Dye shoes.

Yep, you read that right; they’re pretty sweet, and the best part is that I’m going to teach you how to make them. Right now. (Don’t worry, this is EASY.)

The first thing you need to do is go out and buy a pair of white canvas shoes. Any pair you find will work. This was a first time experiment for me, so I went to Walmart and bought a pair for $6, and I recommend that you take that route as well. While you’re there, pick up some tie-dye if you don’t have any!

Once you’ve obtained the shoes, remove the laces (if you want them to stay white). Just like you would begin to tie-dye a shirt, dampen your shoes with water. Warm, cold, room temperature – it doesn’t matter at all. *Note: I forgot this step when I made my shoes, so the dye went EVERYWHERE. Don’t skip this step!!

For my shoes, I used pink, yellow, purple, and green dye. (The tip does look red, but as I said above, that’s because the dye dripped down and colored the yellow . I kind of like how it looks though!) You can use as many colors as you would like, but I recommend doing at least three. Take a second to look at your shoes and plan out how you want the colors spaced out.

Once you’ve prepared your dye, take your first color (the color that will be at the toe) and apply it in drops onto the shoe. Use your gloves to rub the color out, toward the heel of the shoe. Keep adding dye to deepen the colors and give them a more vibrant hue. This step is super fun. Make sure that you rub the color out into where you want your next color to be (this will help to blend the two).

When you’re ready for your next color, add drops a little bit away from where your last color ended. This will allow you to rub your new color into your old one. Like before, rub the color out toward the heel to prepare for your next color! Continue like this until your entire shoe is covered.

That’s it! All you have left to do is wrap your shoes in ceran wrap for about 24 hours, then remove them and let them air dry the rest of the way. After they dry, rinse them in COLD water, squeezing out the dye. A lot of dye will come out, but don’t be afraid to squeeze it, the colors won’t mess up, I promise (I was scared, too!) You can let them air dry after that, or you can throw them in the dryer like I did, because I’m lazy. (If you do put them in the dryer, just be careful. I put mine in a pillow case and suspended it by shutting the dryer door on the pillow case so that the shoes wouldn’t make noise, but the pillow case got a little stained. Oops!)

This is a very messy project, and I recommend doing it outside, not in the kitchen sink like I had to because it was so cold! You can see that the dye bled through to the inside of my shoes a little, but it really doesn’t matter because people will see the outside, not the inside. When you go to dye the tongue of the shoe, you will make a mess inside, but there really isn’t any getting around that. Also, don’t worry about dye that gets on the rubber part of the shoe; most of it wipes off and won’t stain!

Everybody LOVES these shoes. Every time I wear them, I get a TON of compliments, and people are amazed that I did it myself. One of my friends even asked how much I paid for them and asked where to buy a pair. Strangers come up to me and tell me they’re awesome, and go crazy when I tell them how to do it, They’re shocked it’s so easy, and that’s the best part – looking like you paid a lot of money, or spent a lot of time, when you didn’t at all!

You have to make these shoes.

11 thoughts on “DIY Tie-Dye Shoes!!!

  1. I had to Pin this and then post it to my Facebook. How CUTE! I am going to try this something over spring break. So creative. So fun. Thank you for sharing this.

    • Hi! Thank you for visiting! I used a Tulip Tie Dye kit from Walmart that I had. It came with several colors, I believe blue was included. I’m wearing them right now and they have not noticeably faded 🙂 just make sure you really rinse them when you’re through and air dry is the best option.
      If you don’t mind me asking, how we’re you directed here?
      Mayleen 🙂

      • I googled for a tutorial on tie dye shoes since I bought a pair of shoes I intended to do something with, I glittered a different pair of shoes and I wanted to dye these.

  2. Hey… These look really cool. I was wondering how did you make the edging at the top white with no dye? Did you use vaseline or something to stop it?

  3. Hey. These look really cool. I was wondering how you got the edging at the top of the shoe to stay white with no dye? Did you use vaseline to stop it?

    • MY shoes were canvas on the top, and the sides/edging were made of a type of rubbery material, so when I applied the dye to the canvas, it didn’t leak on to the rubber part. Does that make sense? I don’t think much dye even got on the rubbery part, but as long as you wipe it away if it happens, I don’t think it should stain it right away! I hope this helps you 🙂

Leave a Reply

